D - 000
Today: 1
Total: 180149

Information
Venue
Goyang, Korea
Visa
Transportation
General Information
HOME > Information > General Information
Information
Information
 Location
Located on the Korean Peninsula, Korea is bordered by China to the northwest and Russia to the northeast. It is separated from Japan to the east by the Korea Strait and the East Sea.

 Weather during EVS28
With generally splendid weather, daily temperatures vary widely in the spring. It can be warm or a bit hot in the daytime, but a little cold at night. It is always a good idea to prepare by bringing a light jacket.
 Language
Hangeul (한글), Korea’s official alphabet, was first invented by King Sejong during the Joseon Dynasty. Originally called Hunminjeongeum (훈민정음), the language was conceived in 1443, and further promulgated by the King in 1446. At the time of its inception, the language consisted of 17 consonants and 11 vowels however, since then, 3 of the originally established consonants and 1 vowel have fallen into disuse bringing the total number of characters to 24. Syllables are formed by the selective combination of vowels and consonants to create words.
 Time Difference
City Time
Seoul, Tokyo (Korea Time) 1:00 4:00 7:00 10:00 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00
Taipei, Manila, Hong Kong,
Kuala Lumpur, Singapore
24:00 3:00 6:00 9:00 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00
Bangkok, Jakarta 23:00 2:00 5:00 8:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00
New Delhi, Calcutta 22:00 1:00 4:00 7:00 10:00 13:00 16:00 19:00
Teheran, Kuwait, Jeddah 19:00 22:00 1:00 4:00 7:00 10:00 13:00 16:00
Hamburg, Rome, Paris, Amsterdam 17:00 20:00 23:00 2:00 5:00 8:00 11:00 14:00
London, Madrid 16:00 19:00 22:00 1:00 4:00 7:00 10:00 13:00
Rio de Janeiro, S`ao Paulo 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00 1:00 4:00 7:00 11:00
New York, Montreal, Bogota, Toronto 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00 2:00 5:00 8:00
Chicago, Houston 10:00 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00 1:00 4:00 7:00
Vancouver, Seattle,
San Francisco,Los Angeles
8:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00 2:00 5:00
Sydney, Melbourne 2:00 5:00 8:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00
When Indicating Korea Time: Present Time (GMT+9) / No daylight savings time
 
 Business Hours
Government office hours are usually from 9:00 to 18:00 on weekdays. Banks are open from 9:00 to 16:00 on weekdays. Most stores are open every day from 10:30 to 20:00, including Sundays.

 Local Currency

 Tipping & Tax
Service charges are included in your bill for rooms, meals, and other services at hotels and upscale restaurants. Koreans occasionally do tip when they are especially pleased with the service they receive. Foreign tourists can receive nearly 10 % VAT refunds for purchases at Duty Free shops. Goods must be taken out of Korea within three months of purchase to be eligible for a tax refund. Visitors can receive a refund on a receipt for a minimum purchase of KRW 50,000 (around USD 43). To receive this refund, present receipts with the purchased goods at the customs clearance desk at Incheon International Airport when departing.

 Electricity
The standard electricity supply is AC 220 V, 60 Hz. Most hotels may provide outlet converters for 110 and 220 volts.
 Helpful Phone Numbers
  • 1339: Medical Emergency
  • 119: Emergencies for Fire, Rescue & Hospital Services
  • 112: Police

 Useful Websites
EVS28 Secretariat
1F Haeoreum Bldg., 16 Yeoksam-ro 17-gil, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 135-925, Korea
Tel: +82-2-557-8422, 8423    Fax: +82-2-566-6087     E-mail: evs28@evs28.org